Street Shopping In Mumbai!

*This whole post is strictly my opinion and suggestion. You may have different opinions, and your welcome to share them as well.

If you’re in Mumbai, you CANNOT  miss street shopping!

It’s where you get everything cheap, and believe me, very cheap. Have you ever heard of pepe London sweaters at 300 rupees? Well, you will, in Mumbai.

I think the main place where you get awesome stuff is Linking Road Bandra, or Hill Road Bandra. Fashion Street, in my opinion, does not have…fashionable clothes (I know this sounds absurd, but it wasn’t what I had expected. They didn’t have clothes that I liked). Also I thought Fashion Street would be huge, but it’s not.

Also, when you exit almost every station, you will get clothes, shoes, hand bags, pooja stuff, makeup, etc. around.

Cheap stuff= Bad material used= bad quality.

 I bought a tee, a year ago, I know long time, anyways it was for 200 rupees at Andheri, I wore it once, and I looked so good that day, but after washing it, the neck line got ruined, color faded and I couldn’t wear it again. Also, when you are shopping, they don’t let you try on the clothes. Because they know, when you do try them on, they won’t really fit properly. But, there are stores that do have a trial room, and I like them.

Image

A tee shirt I bought recently, at Hill Road, Bandra. I liked this top, and I bought this at 300 rupees. But it dosen’t fit properly. Its thin, the neck line is broad. I bought those feather earings for 50 rupees, I love them. And that necklace is old. But a friend and I bought 2 for 150 rupees.

Image

I bought this tee in Colaba for 150 rupees. And that necklace at 100rupees.

 I bought a pair of sandals a year ago, and I remember I walked in them for a day, and I got a shoe bite and they were really uncomfortable. Often, the heel breaks off or the sole comes off and you need to visit the cobbler frequently.

 The only thing I do like is the jewelry and nail polish. They are really cheap. You spend around 125- 250 rupees for earrings at Aldo, or any other branded shop, but on the streets, you get them at 25-100 rupees. And it looks almost the same. But the necklaces are heavy, if it has diamonds or stones, they come off really quickly, it goes black quicker. You get nail polish at around 10- 25 rupees only. Which is pretty good, I’m not sure about the quality but if you don’t use it frequently, it should be fine.

The handbags look good when they are new. I like the cloth handbags, but they can’t really hold weight. If it’s fake leather, then the material starts to peel off. The zipper is really bad. And it stops working after…well you really can’t predict when it would break off, but it does.

Image

The top layer, or the bad handel, starts to peel off, after regular use. It looks bad, and so I had to stop using it, although the bag is really nice, and I like the print.

The best place for pooja stuff is Dadar, in my opinion.

You also need to have good bargaining skills. They will quote almost double the price. I suggest asking for 35%- 40% of what the person says and then try going up if they don’t listen. But, if it is a fixed rate shop, then you obviously can’t haggle.

Street shopping is good, if you’re going to use the stuff once or twice, and if you can bargain. It must be on your to-do list when in Mumbai because it’s really fun.

And as for quality, what can you expect when you don’t really spend much?

Image

A variety of bindis, nail polish, lip gloss, safety pins.

Image

Jewllery, at Colaba

 

Image

My friend looking for tee’s at Bandra, Hill Road.

 

Image

Looking for dresses at Colaba.

 

Image

With my friend, trying out black pumps! I didn’t buy them though, I couldn’t walk in them.

 

 

 

Image

My friend looking for dresses, inside a store, at Bandra, Hill Road.

 

 

Image

This is a common sight outside almost all stations. All these slippers, shoes, sandals, all lined up.

Image

Inside a store in Bandra, Hill road. They did have a trial room.

Image

Handbags.

Image

A variety of tops alined.

Hope you enjoyed reading and viewing!

Do comment, do share. Do subscribe.

Thank you (:

69 responses to “Street Shopping In Mumbai!

  1. Really like this post.. the pictures captured the vibrancy of street shopping so well! But i’d like to add that if you are patient enough you can get pretty good stuff on the street, especially Vile Parle and Colaba. Oh and where did you find those gorgeous black pumps?!

  2. I am new for Mumbai and was excited about SS. And also kept hearing much about FS. But i will believe this post more. 🙂 Lets see how SS goes for me.

  3. Well Well, you shud write abt better places/ shops to buy all this things.. i so wanna do street shopping but little confused where to go, after hearing so many bad reviews !!! rgds.. theblahqueen.com

  4. Hi i am traveling to Mumbai by next week and i am looking for one piece outfit, can u tell me the name of the shop which u have posted a pic above at hill road,bandra

    • Ahh, your out of luck, my friend and I dont remember the name of the store.

      But just explore and go into random shops, Im sure youll find something.

      Check out the dresses on link road in front of San Churros.

      Hope this helps!

  5. loved the post 🙂 i’m tryna show this kinda costumes in the fashion show held in my college. any idea where i could get the best of them for rent or for purchase? and wheres the last pic from?

  6. Really accurate information about the street shopping and quality of products. But sometimes if you are lucky you will really get good stuff which would be xerox copy of designer outfits.

  7. Hello 🙂
    Your article has been VERRYY helpful.
    However, can you tell me where the 8th & 9th pictures are taken in?
    I’m a huge fan of heels, pumps especially and dresses. But Vero Moda & Aldo (As you said) are such expensive places.
    And the ones in your pictures look PERFECT.
    Could you help moi?

    Shanks.

    • You could try:

      1.Baggit. Not real leather, but great quality and price. (They sell their bags at lifestyle. I know you can get awesome handbags at Oberoi Mall, Goregaon)

      2. Rhysetta. Also sells awesome bags. (Growels, Kandivali)

      3. Esbeda: If your looking for flashy bags. (Oberoi mall and Growels)

      4. Lavie, you can find them at Inorbit, Malad.

      5. Modac: I love Modac. Excellent quality and designs. (Oberoi, lifestyle sells them.)

      6. Raw Hide. These are real leather handbags. Its a bit pricey. 3000 rs – 4000 rs. I believe is their starting price for a good handbag.

      Also, if your going looking for handbags on the streets:

      You can find a tonnn of handbags outside many stations. (Bandra, Andheri, Borivali) to name a few.

      Hope this helps.

      Have fun shopping 😀

  8. Hi…can you tell me the best place to buy a ladies fancy items in mumbai?..like bindis, nail polish, clips etc at mumbai…. even I have seen one photo above but the location not mentioned. ?..

  9. Hello,
    I am writing to you on behalf of Stylish Play.com

    Stylish Play™ is an online marketplace where boutiques and independent labels can create personalized storefronts to sell
    their latest collections and fashionistas can sell your pre-loved (pre-owned) products.

    This holiday season, Stylish Play intends to spread the joy a little more through Free-loved campaign. Through this campaign we encourage people to donate clothes,shoes,bags,toys or books. All they have to do is drop off their contribution at any 6th street yogurt store in Mumbai, between 25th- 30th December. All proceeds from this charity will go to Green Yatra NGO.

    We need to get this message across to as many Mumbaikars as possible and encourage them to be a secret Santa to someone. What better way than word of mouth or blog?! Please contact us at hello@stylishplay.com in case you need more information regarding this campaign.

    You can follow the given links to know us better.
    http://www.stylishplay.com
    https://www.facebook.com/StylishPlay

  10. Today, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iPad and tested to see if it can
    survive a 30 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is completely
    off topic but I had to share it with someone!

    • Aww, that’s unfortunate.

      I really hate it when people do that. My brother’s friend, also faced a similar situation. Although it was by accident. The tab slipped out of my brother’s friend’s hand.

  11. This piece on street shopping was amazing ! Also can you pls tell me where you were trying on those black pumps ? Im really looking for sum gud shoes

      • hello friend,

        I am coming to mumbai on 26th jan, planning to hire a cab for sight seeing.. can you suggest me good places to see and cheap and best places for shopping?

        Thanks
        Ramesh

  12. hi, I will be in Mumbai on 26th Jan 2014, I am planning to hire a cab to roam around, please suggest me some good places to visit and for cheap and best places for shopping. Thanks Ramesh

  13. I hav bought a 1 piece from hill road stall but now I want to return it or get it exchanged because it dosent just fit me right. Is it possible ?

  14. Hi
    Can u name the shop (above pic where I said the store in BAndra does hv a trial room)!
    Thanks

  15. im from pune planing to open small shop and want to buy ladies tops from mumbai as u mention FS is the best place but i feel to get best rates we have to do bargaining alot n m new to mumbai i cant do.
    can you please help in wholesale where i can get good ladies tops in whole sale rates

  16. That’s really a nicely written blog with photos et all. Planning to visit Mumbai soon. Might as visit Linking road bandra and Mount Mary church on Hill road. God bless!

  17. A vry nice blog it helped allot.I am going to enter college now and want to a complete new wardrobe.I wanna buy some stylish clothes and accessories but with a low budget. Can you suggest me some places to shop please !

  18. where can i find Replica item of the branded clothes in mumbai ?
    I mean if you can provide the name of the areas please

  19. I would like to buy ladies n gents wear for marketing in huge quantity with lower rates. could you pl tell me the contacts of large suppliers in mumbai SS ?

  20. Hey gal i reallly liked all stuff wich u shared here…. m confused actually frm whr to buy thngs frm nw… my question is really simple… Is fashion street better or bandra? I dnt want to buy much expensive things bt a good quality n low price shopping i wanna do nw u tell me whr shd i do it frm?? Fashn street or bandra? n also tell me the price levels regardn both like which one is cheap n wch one costly?

  21. Hey hi,

    Could you please suggest a good shopping place where I get sweaters in good price street as well as shops.

    Thanks in advance

  22. hey m going 2 Mumbai aftr 2 weeks …I dnt no where 2 stay(I mean which place) cn u suggest me a few…I hve my uncle aunties nd all of dem wid little kids…v all wnna enjoy beaches, shopping and visit gateway n siddhivinayak and especially d foods on juhu beach

  23. Nice blog, priti.
    I want to know more regarding street shopping.
    As you told, Linking Road is good for street shopping.
    May i get shoes, sandals, purses, clothes, jewellery, wrist watch everything from that single place?
    how much bargaining we should do?
    Thanks
    Alpa

    • Hi
      Thanks 🙂

      Yes, you can get everything!
      Try to bargain for half the price. If the seller gets really angry, then increase your price. But if he haggles, then you should stick to your price.

      Hope that helped.

      Priti

  24. Hi, i will e in Mumbai in April and wish to purchase apprx 15 churidars for my cousins..cud u plz suggest any market/place where i can get reasonable materials. also trendy materials.

Leave a Reply

